A Few of My Favorite Things – #1

Posted: December 13, 2010 in Misc.

With the holidays upon us I thought it would be fun to give you a list of a few of my favorite things. Some of the items on this list are new things discovered recently, while others are old favorites. Hopefully this list will peak your curiosity and cause you to discover some of these things for yourself, or maybe help in finishing off your Christmas shopping.

1. One of the coolest, most practical and useful items I discovered this year was “Water Bobble”. This item is basically a water bottle but with an trendy design and a filter built into the nozzle. You can wash and reuse the water bottle portion of the Bobble, while only having to replace the filter/nozzle every 3 months. The filter/nozzle comes in a variety of colors allowing you to pick a color that suits your style and taste. The Bobbles also come in a variety of sizes too from a kids size all the way up to a 1 liter Bobble. You can check them out at: http://www.waterbobble.com

2. I must admit I’m an avid collector of t-shirts and one of the coolest t-shirt crews out there are my buddies at Le Grand Cru. These guys just recently got into the business and already have a loyal fan base as well as some great designs. These guys are not only dedicated to making cool t-shirts but are also dedicated to making a difference in their community and raising awareness for the arts. I strongly urge you to check them out at: http://www.legrandcru.us

3. Another one of my favorite “fashion” items is TOMS Shoes. For those of you unfamiliar with TOMS Shoes, these are affordable shoes made out of materials such as burlap and canvas. The awesome part about this company is their mission. For every pair of shoes purchased, TOMS Shoes donates a pair to a child in need. Not only are TOMS Shoes great to wear, but by purchasing a pair you will be helping a child who is less fortunate than yourself. TOMS Shoes can be found at: http://www.toms.com

4. I absolutely love music. I love everything from jazz to hip-hop to rock-n-roll. These next two items are oldies but goodies in my music library. The first is Miles Davis’ album “Kind of Blue”. This album is considered one of the greatest jazz albums of all-time. Miles Davis was a phenomenal trumpeter and his talents shine through in this amazing album. One of the interesting facts about this album: every song was produced in one take with no rehearsal done beforehand. You can find this album at most any store that sells music.

5. The second album is Tupac Shakur’s “All Eyez on Me”, in my opinion one of the best hip-hop albums ever. I’m a huge Tupac fan so I may be a bit biased, but I love this album. I can put this on at any time. This is an album that every hip-hop fan should have in their collection. Like “Kind of Blue”, you can find this album at most any store that sells music.

6. This next one isn’t an item but a place. Sushi is probably my favorite kind of food. I can eat it all the time. One of the best places that I’ve been for sushi is in San Diego at “Sushi Deli #2”. As the name suggests this is a chain of sushi restaurants. While I normally wouldn’t recommend a chain restaurant for sushi, this place is excellent. They have an amazing assortment of rolls and sashimi and best of all the prices are cheap. If you ever find yourself in San Diego and are craving sushi, you should check out “Sushi Deli #2”. Who knows, maybe you’ll see me there.

7. One of the great television shows on these days is a show called “Shark Tank”, which airs on ABC. I was recently introduced to this show through my brother and I’ve been hooked ever since. The show is about entrepreneurs/inventors that come onto the show to try and convince the “Sharks” to invest in their products, services, or ideas. The “Sharks” are wealthy investors who then have to determine whether or not to invest their own money after the presentations. Quite an interesting show and I highly recommend it. The next season of “Shark Tank” will be airing on ABC in the early part of 2011.

8. I am an avid movie buff. This fall I saw an excellent documentary called “Waiting for Superman” which takes a look at the United States’ education system, specifically K-12. I walked away having a better understanding of the poor state our education system is in. While I will admit there are many success stories, quite a few of the children in this nation are not receiving the education they deserve. I felt this documentary was fairly unbiased in it’s approach and did a good job of showing most sides of the issue as well as touching on plans that are being put into action to change the system. A great documentary for anyone to see. You can find out more information about the documentary or ways to get involved at: http://www.waitingforsuperman.com

9. The last items on my list are all books. As you can probably guess I enjoy reading. I try to read every night before I go to bed and have been a big fan of reading for as long as I can remember. The first book I’m recommending is Bill Simmons’ “The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to The Sports Guy”. This book is a definite must read for anyone who enjoys sports, especially anyone interested in basketball and the NBA. Bill Simmons is a writer for ESPN and his style of writing is entertaining as well as informative. The size of the book is a bit daunting, but you will not regret reading it. You can find this book at Amazon.com.

10. The second book I’m recommending is Nicole Krauss’ “The History of Love”. This book is not about the history of love, but rather an interesting and heartwarming story based upon love. I found Nicole Krauss’ writing style to be very engaging and the way the book and story is written is somewhat unusual. It’s a very quick read and also highly recommend this book for anyone.

11. The third book on my list is written by one of the “Sharks” on “Shark Tank”, Daymond John, one of the founders of FUBU. His book, “The Brand Within”, discusses the importance of understanding branding, but not just in the business sense, the personal importance as well. This book is not just for business-minded individuals, but I believe for everyone. Your brand, the way you present and carry yourself, is very important. I strongly recommend this book as well.

12. The fourth book and final item on this list is written by Tony Hsieh, the CEO of Zappos. “Delivering Happiness” is Tony’s description of the many ventures he found himself involved in leading up to Zappos, as well as the story of Zappos. The book is written in a down-to-earth manner and is quite easy to read. The biggest aspect of the book is discussing the importance that Zappos placed on customer service and how this focus has led to enormous success for the company. It also discusses Zappos “Core Values” and the importance of sticking with these values as a business. I found this book extremely interesting and a book that I will pick up again if I ever start my own business. I highly recommend this book.

I hope you have enjoyed reading this list of a few of my favorite things. I also hope you’ll take the time to check out a few of these things for yourself. If you do, I’d love to hear back from you. Happy Holidays everyone.

Comments
  1. Melissa O says:

    Great list! I’m going to have to check out some of the books on the list. I’m a HUGE fan of Zappos, I’m sure the back story would make me a bigger fan. Thanks for sharing a piece of you!

Leave a Reply

